Since 1992, Synergura, the well-known International Festival of the art of puppetry, has been a cultural highlight for theatre-goers from Thuringia and its state capital Erfurt, plus guests from further afield and theatre specialists from all over the world.

Theater Waidspeicher with the Artistic and Managing Director Sibylle Tröster is the host of the biennial festival.

During five days in September, outstanding ensembles and solo artists from ten countries, present their best productions for children, young people and adults in different places of Erfurts medieval city centre. The hosting Theater Waidspeicher, Theater Erfurt with its Main Hall and Studio, Youth Theatre „Die Schotte“, the Small Synagogue, the Medieval Church of St. Michael’s and the world famous Evangelic Augustinian Monastery are very attractive festival venues.

The 12th edition of the International Puppet Theatre Festival Synergura took place from 5 to 9 September, 2018.

13th International Puppet Theatre Festival Erfurt

Unfortunately, we had to cancel the 13th edition of the International Puppet Theatre Festival Synergura planned for the period 16 to 20 September, 2020, due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and its consequences.

The next International Puppet Theatre Festival Synergura is planned for 21-25 September, 2022.

Participating artists since 2012

Ariel Doron (Israel) | Avital Dvory Visual Theatre Group (Israel) | Blind Summit Theatre (United Kingdom) | Bolshoy Puppet Theatre St. Petersburg (Russia) | Clair de Lune Théâtre (Belgium) | Compagnie Bagages de Sable (France) | Compagnie Le Pilier des Anges (France) | Compagnie Gare Centrale (Belgium) | Compagnie Les Voisins - Die Nachbarn (Germany) | Ensemble Materialtheater (Germany) | Figurentheater Margrit Gysin (Switzerland) | Das Papiertheater (Germany) | Drak Theatre (Czech Republic) | Familie Flöz (Germany) | figuren theater tübingen (Germany) | flunker produktionen (Germany | La Compagnie á (France) | Lichtbende (Netherlands) | Livsmedlet (Finland) | Lutz Großmann (Germany) | Manufaktor (Germany) | Michèle Anne De Mey, Jaco Van Dormael et le Collectif Kiss & Cry (Belgium) | Mini Teater (Slovenia) | Naivní Theatre Liberec (Czech Republic) | NBprojects (Netherlands) | Odradek/Compagnie Pupella-Noguès (France) | Polina Borisova (France) | Plexus Polaire/Yngvild Aspeli (France/Norway) | Puppet Theatre Ljubljana (Slovenia) | Samuel Koch and Robert Lang (Germany) | Sandglass Theater (USA) | Sofie Krog Teater (Denmark/Spain) | Stuffed Puppet (Netherlands) | Taiyuan Puppet Theatre Company (Taiwan) | Talking Object Theatre (Israel) | Thalias Kompagnons (Germany) | Teater Blik (Denmark) | Theater des Lachens (Germany) | Theater Erfurt (Germany) | Théâtre Incliné (Canada) | Théâtre du Chemin Creux (France) | Théâtre Octobre Brüssel (Belgium) | Theater, Oper und Orchester GmbH Halle, Puppentheater Halle (Germany) | Theater Tenj Moskau (Russia) | Theater Waidspeicher (Germany) | The Last Great Hunt (Australia) | The Train Theater (Israel) | The Turku International Puppetry Connection (Finland) | TJP Strasbourg (France) | Trio Gottschalk - Mürle - Soehnle (Germany) | Viktor Antonov (Russia) | Ulrike Quade Company (Netherlands) | WHS & Sungsoo Ahn Pick-up Group (Finland/Republic of Korea) | Yael Rasooly und Yaara Goldring (Israel) | Yeung Faï (Hongkong/France)